histologic nebulousness evades category

Spring is nature’s way of saying, “Let’s party! – Robin Williams

The brain is hot these days. The continued evolution of our own understanding of the most mysterious and complex of all organs rolls along at a rapid pace. The convergence of biology, chemistry, technology and other realms of knowledge as it relates to the gray and white matter inside our skull rages like so many rivers combining into a (bit?) torrent of information.

In a recent New York Times article there was the news that “The Obama administration is planning a decade-long scientific effort to examine the workings of the human brain and build a comprehensive map of its activity, seeking to do for the brain what the Human Genome Project did for genetics.”

Beneath the twenty-two bones and three membranes lies an organ, the largest of any mammal related to body size, weighing on average around three pounds, with 100 million miles of blood vessels. 100 billion neurons (the gray matter) are organized into 100 trillion total connections. The white matter is made up of dendrons and axons, the network needed for sending signals. The brain is not coiled but folded and if laid out flat would cover about 2.8 square feet. The brain is the fattest organ in the body and is 75% water. I did not know this when I was eating sauteed goat brain in Puerto Rico many moons ago. Yum.

How funny, and not, necessarily, ha ha funny, that I had not thought much of the brain, my brain, or any one else’s for that matter before “this.” One could argue I had not done much thinking to begin with, at least on some level as I bounced and careened through life, a mostly-fun roller coaster ride with rickety wooden Coney-Island rails. Until now. There is nothing like a little humility of ill-health to slap your soul into orbit. And all I can come up with for the moment is “holy smokes I am a lucky man.” It has been a week since surgery and I am up and about albeit some pretty good bouts of headaches and some unsteadiness. But why complain? What would be the point? Barb, my parents, daughters, family, friends and the incredible team at Massachusetts General Hospital were the wind in my sails once again. Perhaps I can sail with a full wind for a while before the next storm.

After brain surgery #3 in two years time, I was mobile two days later, giving the nurses a hard time by pretending to drink from my bedside urinal containing not what was intended but instead apple juice.  Unlike several on the Neurosurgical ICU ward, I could talk, see, hear, touch and taste.

After the surgery some of the leading pathologists analyzed the tissue which will be further studied at a genetic level.  Some notes:

“Findings consistent with recurring glioma but specific tumor type elusive although trending towards mixed ependymoma/astrcocytic as it would be unusual for ependymoma alone to recur so quickly.”

I will know more when I see my neuro-oncologist next week and discuss results from mutation testing- I believe he will provide a menu of options, including chemotherapy: temozolomide,  Avastin, etc.. We shall see.

In the meantime I am moving towards (but not completely) a modified Atkins/Ketogenic diet. Life is indeed too short to not enjoy great food but life indeed will be shorter if I enjoy some of the foods with more indulgence than necessary. Incidentally, a bottle of red wine has fewer carbohydrates than an apple, as hard as this is to believe. Go Willamette Valley Pinot! Fresh feeling.

The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful. – E.E. Cummings

A little Madness in the Spring Is wholesome even for the King. – Emily Dickinson

Addendum: For a great recent post by colleague/fellow survivor Liz Salmi at LizArmy

About moosevt

earth air water fire aether wind rain snow sun see hear smell taste touch
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to histologic nebulousness evades category

  1. julia jensen says:

    Hey Mark, for some reason I haven’t seen your posts lately but I just want to tell you how much I love them. I am always hunting the internet for inspiration on life and how to live it. Your posts are right up there with the best. Thank you so much for the little peek into your world. xo J.

  2. Jean E. Brown says:

    Thinking of you, Mark – j

  3. I love the Eels! And I love this post. Most of all I love that you’re doing okay after round 3 and that you are surrounded by loving family. Let me know if we can do anything to help out. Timmy and Ellie say hi too! 🙂

  4. Dani says:

    I am championing your bravery, courage and persistence. I think of you often and hope you make the very most of your journey, whatever life minutes it contains. You have already achieved an incredible dignity, and you are an inspiration to so many. You go, kid!

  5. Mark Drexelius says:

    Great reading your post today. Best thing that happened to me today! All the best Mark. I will raise a glass of pinot to you and praise your energy!!!!!

  6. KT Thalin says:

    Wow, Mark. As I’ve told you before, you never cease to amaze me with your strength and positive outlook. Keep on!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

