Just Breathe

For Barb. Our song.


Just Breathe- Pearl Jam

Yes I understand that every life must end, uh huh…
As we sit alone, I know someday we must go, uh huh…
I’m a lucky man to count on both hands
The ones I love…Some folks just have one
Others they got none, uh huh…
Stay with me
Let’s just breathe
Practiced are my sins
Never gonna let me win, uh huh…
Under everything, just another human being, uh huh…
Yea, I don’t wanna hurt, there’s so much in this world
To make me bleed
Stay with me
You’re all I see
Did I say that I need you?
Did I say that I want you?
Oh, if I didn’t I’m a fool you see
No one knows this more than me
As I come clean
I wonder everything
As I look upon your face, uh huh…
Everything you gave
And nothing you would take, uh huh…
Nothing you would take
Everything you gave
Did I say that I need you?
Did I say that I want you?
Oh, if I didn’t I’m a fool you see
No one knows this more than me
As I come clean
Nothing you would take
Everything you gave
Hold me ’till I die
Meet you on the other side
June, 18, 2012
Father’s Day came with a particular poignancy. Three days earlier I had my MRI with contrasting dye to allow a visual into my brain to check on any profusion of abnormal blood flow which would indicate possible tumor growth. No signs of this nor signs of new tumor growth. Sigh. Deep breath.  It has been nearly one year since the calamity.
It has been an exhausting time. My next MRI will take place in September as well as a neuro-psych evaluation as I am experiencing some deficit in memory,  (“but how can we tell the difference?”) possibly from the side-effects of radiation.
I’m off Facebook. Too much a distraction from what is real and important. To follow blog on Facebook “like” the new Mark R. Green page. Or subscribe to my blog. (right side of blog page)
Longer post forthcoming. Also working on a book to serve many purposes:
1) To continue to tell the story, many tales yet untold
2) To help others with brain cancer know they are not alone and that some of my experiences will be alien while others may resound with familiarity
3) To help raise awareness of the need for more research and more support for brain cancer which comprises a mere 2% of all cancer but remains one of the deadliest
4) To leave a legacy for my children, and their children and so on.
and most of all…
5) To help me breathe
Thank you for reading. Helping me breathe.
About moosevt

earth air water fire aether wind rain snow sun see hear smell taste touch
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just Breathe

  1. petqvt says:

    Mark, raw..just raw…best blog yet…thank you.
    Ellen (Saxtons river)

  2. Phoebe says:

    Congratulations on the good news, Mark! We love you and are thinking of you, and so excited about your book! Hope to see you soon, love Phoebe Melissa and Jamie

  3. Big sighs of relief were heard around the world with your good news! Perfect song for you and Barb, I thank god you have her by your side and she puts up with you every day! LOL : ) Love ya both!

  4. Love you Mark – glad to hear all is faring well still; I was worried when I noticed you were off facebook – so…….I’m glad to see your decision to deactivate was motivated by your use of a healthy brain! Now if only us other dum dums could be so bright. lol – Mike

  5. Mark,
    Congratulations on the MRI results and on the way you’ve been handling everything. I hope everything keeps going in the right direction towards a long life, because no matter what you seem to be a guy that will always strive to be happy. Let’s show the world that we can live with glioma!
    Best Regards,
    Patrick

  6. JB says:

    Happy Father’s Day, my friend. Glad to hear the good news! As always, I’m holding you in the Light.

Leave a Reply

